Be part of the knowledge.

We’re glad to see you’re enjoying ReachMD…
but how about a more personalized experience?

Register for free
ReachMD Faculty

Public Profile

Diana Mason, RN, PhD
Diana Mason, RN, PhD

    Dr. Diana J. Mason is editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Nursing, the oldest and largest circulating nursing journal in the world. She served as project director for a print and video series on nursing care of older adults (funded by Atlantic Philanthropies); and a print series on palliative nursing (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation) and chronic kidney disease (National Kidney Foundation), and is a co-principal investigator for a series of articles and videos on assessing older adults, funded in part by a grant from the John A. Hartford Foundation. Under her leadership, the Journal has received numerous awards from the Association for Healthcare Journalists, the Association for Women in Communications, Publications Management, the American Academy of Nursing, Folio, and the Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honorary Society.

    Dr. Mason also is the co-editor of the award-winning book, Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health Care, now in its fifth edition. Since 1986, she has been one of the producers and moderators of "Healthstyles," a weekly, live radio program in New York City that has received media awards from the State of New York, the Public Health Association of New York City, the American Academy of Nursing, and the National Association of Childbirthing Centers. She was project director for the WBAI-Global Kids' Sound Partners for Community Health Initiative (funded by the Benton and Robert Wood Johnson Foundations) to train New York City youth in producing radio programs on preventing teen substance abuse. 

    Dr. Mason is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Long Island University; fellowship in the American Academy of Nursing, the New York Academy of Medicine, and the West Virginia University Academy of Distinguished Alumni; as well as the Pioneering Spirit Award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. She is a graduate of the West Virginia University School of Nursing (BSN, 1970), St. Louis University (MSN, 1977), and New York University (PhD, 1987). 

    LIVE ON REACHMD RADIOBack to live radio


    Programs 5/28/20